Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Socialization!

So, I had an epiphany tonight.
My sister went off to her friends house, where they were having a little game night, and she asked if I wanted to go with her. I politely declined, because I just wanted to stay home, because I was comfortable. I'm always more comfortable at home.
Then I started thinking about that very thing; why am I more comfortable at home? Why do I feel the need to be a hermit, and stay away from people (most of them time)? I know, I'm not the most sociable person. I used to be shy to the extreme. And I've slowly grown out of that, to the point where when I'm with new people I can talk, and enjoy myself, and have a great time! But it's keeping that new friendship alive, that's where it's hard for me. In my mind, once I've talked to a person a long time (as I tend to do when I first meet them), there's usually not much else about me to tell, or not much else for me to ask at a second or third gathering. So I sit in awkward silence. Not that I don't want to enjoy them, I do, but I just don't know how to! I'm great with first meeting someone, but it's keeping that going, that's the hard part for me.
Well, as I thought about it something popped into my mind that I had heard at a CES devotional a few weeks prior: "We NEED to be around people to grow, especially to grow in the gospel. We need each other. We are to work out our salvation together! Healthy people NEED each other." Then I thought about the little church saying that goes, "The gospel is to comfort the afflicted, and to afflict the comfortable." I then thought to myself, "Sara, why are you being so selfish? You want to stay at home because you're COMFORTABLE there! But while I'm sitting at home being "comfortable" and getting nothing accomplished, others are out socializing, making new friends, and helping build each other up. And for all I know, I'm missing out on some great missionary experience." THEN, I thought about something I learned in Institute last night, a paraphrased quote that says, "It is detrimental to us to learn but not experience." Obviously referring to the gospel, but still relatable in every other aspect of life.
So, to wrap this all together, I've FINALLY figured it out! I need to socialize, even when I don't feel like it. I usually end up having an awesome time anyway! When I ignore that invitation to socialize, I'm hurting myself, and am possibly hurting others. Not intensely, but little by little. We could be learning and growing from each other. When I stay at home and ignore a social invitation I'm depriving someone of the light that my Heavenly Father has blessed me with. I'm depriving myself of meeting new people. I'm depriving others of my smile, my compliments, and my fellowship. Not that in any way it's MY presence that makes a room light up; on the contrary, I tend to feel like I have nothing to offer. But, I know that I am a Daughter of God, and that I have so much to offer, if I will do so humbly, willingly, and happily.
So, from now on I'm going to try to be more sociable! I'm going to stop being selfish (just because I want to stay at home, and be "comfortable"), and get out and live, and meet, and enjoy!

That's my epiphany for tonight!
Arrivederci!

Sara

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Big changes!

Hello, after a year of no blogging! (Holy cannoli, I hadn't realized it has been that long!)
I'm fairly certain no one reads this blog, but I just want to write and get some things off my mind.

1. I'm going on a mission!
I had always had that in the back of my mind, to go on a mission at the age of 21 if I wasn't married. I never gave it much thought. But, as 2011 ended, and 2012 began, I stared seriously thinking about serving a mission for my church! (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, www.lds.org) I eventually talked to my Bishop and started working on my mission papers! ...without ever officially telling my family I was doing it. Haha.
But, I started working on my mission papers! Papers were getting filled out, dental and medical appointments were getting scheduled, and interviews were lining up. It was actually a lot easier than I've heard. Everyone always told me (from what I remember) that filling out the paper work was so long, took forever, and was a hassle. But for me it went by pretty smoothly!
So, my papers got filled out, and within a month or so (medical stuff took a big longer) all the paperwork was finished! I had a few final interviews with my church leaders, but besides that I was done! Time passed, and my Stake President told me he had submitted my papers a few days prior to talking to me, and that I should have my call by the next Friday! Agh!
Which I did! It came the very day he said it would!
My mom ran out to the mail box, feeling it would surly come that day, and was overwhelmingly excited when I walked outside and she held my big white envelope. Haha.
I didn't open it right then. Or even that night. I waiting 2 full days to open it! It came on a Friday afternoon, and I didn't open it until Sunday night, 7PM! Reasons being,
a) I had to go to work. And my whole family wasn't present at the time it came. I couldn't.
b) One of my brothers live in Utah, and one of my sisters lives in California, so I had to make sure I could skype/facetime them at the same time, and not inconvenience anybody!
c) Everyone was DYING, waiting for me to open it. It was so funny having people explode with anxiety/nervousness/inquiry/interest, waiting for me to open it.
Now, about where I'm going!
I have always wanted to go to Italy all my life! It started when I was little. My favorite food was ALWAYS pasta. Spaghetti. Lasagna. I always ordered pasta when we went out to restaurants. Then as I got older, I apparently started talking faster. Much faster. And I started talking with my hands, and being very expressive when I talked. Friends and family would always tell me I must be Italian, the way/speed I talk. Mingle all those together, and you have a little love for Italy growing inside of me from a young age. As I got older, I realized how much I really, REALLY loved it, and I've loved Italy ever since! Always wanted to go and learn the language and meet the people and have relationships there. I NEVER want to/have ever wanted to go and be a tourist (not just in Italy, but anywhere). Just to look at buildings, landscapes, etc. I want to go, and experience the people. That's always what I've wanted to do. Have relationships with people, and have a reason to go back and visit.
Near the end of last year (2011) my dad emailed me a video of 3 Italian operatic-pop singers. Straight from Italy. I watched the video, and I fell in LOVE with them! They're teenagers. 16-17 years old (or, they were at the time the video was made). And they have amazing, Italian, opera-ish (operatic-pop) voices. I thought it was fake when I saw them singing. But I heard them, and loved them instantly. Which absolutely grew my love for Italy!
The group is called Il Volo. And I love them to pieces. So, in regards to the mission, I would have loved to go to Italy!
Now that you know my love for Italy, I have others loves as well. My dad served a mission in Argentina. My sister served a mission in Texas, Spanish speaking. I have a bunch of friends in Miami, who speak Spanish. I've taken Spanish I & II in college. There are a lot of Spanish people at the ward I attend. And the list goes on and on. The Spanish language is such a big part of my life. I love it. I'm not fluent in it, but I love it, and hope to be fluent in it one day.
So, in regards to the mission, I would love to have gone ANYWHERE Spanish speaking!
Those were the two main ideas I had hoped for for my mission. I also love Ireland, and would love to be called to serve my mission there! But ultimately, I just wanted to go foreign. Anywhere out of the Country. I want to travel.
Now, fast-forward, and I'm opening my call!
I open the call, and pull the paper out, but don't quite look at it, as I'm joking with my friends and family around me, laughing nervously. But mid sentence I look down at the paper, my mission call, and gasp. My heart stopped. I got a little teary-eyed. Because the first thing I see is "Italian speaking". As soon as I gasped, everyone else stopped breathing, and listening intently! So, of course, I start reading!
"Dear Sister Willis,
You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Italy Milan Mission."
...You should report to the Provo Missionary Training enter on Wednesday, August 1, 2012."
Agh! Everyone screamed. I fought back tears. Smiles and hugs were in abundance. It was so great.

So, I, Sara Emily Willis, will soon be Sorella Willis! I'm SO excited to be a Missionary for the Lord! To have the opportunity to go to the one place in the world I've always wanted to go! To be able to learn the language I've always wanted to learn! Seriously, I don't know how I got so blessed. I still sometimes think, "Did I read my mission call wrong?", "Am I really going it ITALY?!" It boggles my mind. I was thinking I would go anywhere except for Italy, because I wanted to go there so badly. So here's my conclusion to this:
a) The Lord honestly, truly knows our hearts. He knows our desires. And if they're righteous desires, He will often bless us with them! Not always in our desired way/time, but He does!
b) There are people in Italy who are being prepared for me! People only I will be able to teach. I'm not trying to be arrogant, but that's where the Prophet (i.e. the Lord!) wants me to be! I will be able to help and teach more people there than I would anywhere else!

So that's my big schpeel. I was going to write about SO much more (mostly, my desire to find Mr. Perfectly Imperfect, and fall in love, and get married, and have a happy little family. Much of this comes from recently reading one of my FAVORITE author's books. She's magnificent. And I sometimes wish I could live her life. She just seems to have it all: perfect job, perfect life, perfect family, perfect friends, perfect personality, everything!), but it appears I've already written WAY more than I intended! So I suppose I'll leave it at this. Maybe I'll go on and on about men, and happily ever after another day.
Until then!
Arrivederci! ("Goodbye" in Italian!)

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

03/30/11

Hello little Blogspot world.
I haven't posted a blog in quite some time.
Wow. I hadn't realized how long.
I had been meaning to post something, sometime soon.
But, I always feel like I want to write so much,
and I won't be able to get everything out,
in the way that I want to get it out, in a short amount of time.
But, I guess I have some time tonight.
There's been SO much on my mind lately.
So much. You have no idea.
Where to start...

Well, I got accepted as an EFY counselor!
I dunno if I had mentioned that on the blog yet.
I know I mentioned the interview, and how it went,
how nervous I was, etc. But, I don't think I mentioned that I got accepted.
Golly, I'm SO excited! I have no idea what to do.
How to start preparing, what to buy, etc.
I feel like I'm going to be so overwhelmed with being in charge
of a bunch of teenagers. I'm still a kid myself, after all!
But, I'm sure if I do all that I need to do,
(scripture study, pray, ask for guidance to help the youth, etc.)
then I'll be fine:) ha.
But, boy howdy, I sure am excited! :)

Next on the brain...
Hm, how about school and/or work.
I kinda link them together sometimes.
They're two things that don't seem to have an end.
At least, in the near future. Ha.
School is actually going really well.
Springs semester's almost over.
I'm doing well in my classes.
I'm all signed up for my summer classes.
Spanish II, Latin American History (online), and Human Nutrition (online).
Hello? That sounds like such a fun semester!
I'm so stoked:)
Now I need to get my fall semester all worked out.
I need 6 more credit hours - only two more classes
(after the summer semester), and I'll have my AA!
(Associates in Arts degree)
I need to take a science with a lab,
and to pick another elective.
My sister wants me to take chemistry with her.
Ew. I dunno about that.
But, since none of the other sciences seem to be working out,
I might end up doing it. But, I don't really want to. Haha.
And, about that elective... I have no idea how I should use it!
And, since I'll have my AA soon, I should probably work on,
a.) What school/University I want to transfer out to
(I'm kinda feeling one of the BYUs) and,
b.) What I'm going to major in!
Jeez, it's been so hard deciding on a major.
I still have no idea!
Okay, I have a little idea. Maybe.
I've thought a lot about childhood development.
Or something along those lines.
I love children. But, I don't know if I necessarily want to be a teacher.
And, I love health/nutrition and I think I'm kind of interested in psychology, so maybe
helping with their mental/physical development?
I dunno. I haven't looked into any degrees like that.
I just thought about it.
And, childhood development could help me when I have kids of my own:)
But there's also degrees in business.
I don't like math, but I think I'm pretty good with numbers.
So, I think I could go into some form of business.
But, I want to major in something that will be useful to me.
I was looking into the Home and Family degree at BYU,
but that won't get me very many jobs.
It'll help me be a good homemaker. But, that's about it.
I dunno, childhood development seems like I could use it
anywhere. At home, or getting a job.

Now, onto jobs. Agh!
I love/hate Winn Dixie. So much.
It's my home. I know it backwards and forwards.
I love the people I work with.
But then, you just have those days, when the wrong
customers come in, and everything just sucks,
and you realize that your job doesn't really make you happy.
You know?
I dunno, I guess jobs aren't designed to make us happy. Ha.
But, I can be happy pretty much everywhere.
I try and focus on the good things.
But, lately WD has just been getting on my nerves.
It just doesn't work with my schedule anymore.
At all. I'm only available a few days of the week,
and half the time I request of those days!
And, whenever I'm in WD, I feel like it's a waste of time.
Like I could be at home, doing homework, or
progressing in some other way/shape/form.
Or, that I could have a different job that was better for me,
and had a better environment.
I have a job in mind that I really, really want.
At the YMCA.
I want a job there SO bad!
For so many reasons!
a.) It'll get me out of WD.
b.) I could workout there, which would mean,
c.) I could quit my other gym, and save $20 a month, and
d.) I'll work there, so I won't have any reason not to work out!
also, I want to work anywhere at the Y, but I particularly wanted
to work in the childcare center. I dunno. I nanny all the time.
I babysit. I work in the nursery. I'd say I know how to watch kids. Haha.
And, it could help me decide if I wanted to do the childhood development.
Also, I just love the YMCA.
It focus' on everything that's important to me in my life!
a.) build strong families.
b.) health/fitness/etc.
c.) helps youth (and adults) stand strong in their values/standards.
I just love it.
Anyway, so that's where I want to work right now.
Terribly.
But, I'll be at EFY 3 weeks out of the summer,
so I don't know if they'll want to hire me,
just to have me request off 3 weeks.
So, maybe I'll try again after I get home from EFY.

Next on the mind...
the boy? Perhaps.
I saw him the other day. Completely by surprise, too.
I went to an event. I had no idea he was going.
I saw him walk past a doorway, and my heart just about
leapt out of my chest.
Partly because it was him, and he just does that to me.
Partly because I wasn't expecting him to be there, so it was just a surprise!
But, I saw him nonetheless.
I told my best friend, Kelsey...
you know Kelsey right? She's the best:)
Anyway, I told her. I saw him and my heart went crazy,
and my legs got shaky.
Ha, who actually does that?
What a dork I am.
I talked to him. For a bit.
It seems like every time I talk to him there's always,
always an awkward silence. I hate it. I wish we could talk more.
But, I'm not a talkative person.
Especially around people who I'm diggin'...
I don't want to make a fool out of myself,
so I watch what I say! Which doesn't usually help,
cause I tend to say the dumbest things anyway. Ha.
Oh well.
Anyway, I dig him. Tremendously.
He's probably the coolest person ever.
He's so himself. He doesn't follow trends, or what have you.
He's just himself.
I think that's what I like about him.
He doesn't try to impress anyone, or
follow any crowds. He's just him.
He does his own thing.
I like it.
Now, if only I could find someone who liked me for being me!
Haha. Eh, I'm sure it'll happen. One of these days.

Okay... EFY, school, work, boy...
there are a lot of other little things on my mind,
but those are the main parts.
Those are always the main things that are on my mind.
But, I've been sitting here for a good while now,
so I think I'm going to hit the hay.
Goodnight!

- Sara

PS: my birthday is coming up!
Not that I'm expecting anything.
I'm not. I haven't done anything hardly for my
past few birthdays. I just love the idea of birthdays.
I dunno why. I just do.
So mark it up!
April 10! :)


I have lyrics from four different songs that I want to post.
All these lyrics just stuck out to me, and have been rolling
around in my head, so I kinda want to let them out now:) Ha.

Lyric: "From [his] lips I heard [him] say
Can I have you?
Caught up on what to say,
I said you do."

Lyric: "You're inches from my fingertips
I've come as close as I can get
I'm reaching but the rest is up to you."

Lyric: "Another Sunday afternoon
Nothing much to do
Sit and try and make some sense of
What I think I think about you."

Lyric: "And If you never let me go, well I will never let you down."


Monday, January 31, 2011

Epiphany

So, the whole reason for yesterday's post
(entitled: "Orlando!") was supposed to be what I'm
about to write this post about. But, I guess I just got
carried away in writing about the trip, the interview, etc.
So, while on the road, I had a grand time.
It was fun. Good fun:)
Just me, my sister, and two good friends.
Scratch that, one good friend, and a new friend in the making.
The ride up was fun, the random in between times were fun,
and the ride home was fun.
Then it came to an end.
And I was home.
And, I realized something.
I really, tremendously enjoyed that.
Being out, on my own, without my parents,
or half of my family, but with a sibling, and some friends.
That's not how I usually am - I like to have my family with
me at all times. I like to stay at home. I'm not a "go out" kinda person.
(usually. Occasionally I'll feel like getting dressed up and going out,
but usually I'm just the stay at home person)
Anyway. I kinda came to the realization that I need to grow up,
and move out, and live a life away from my family.
Now, that being said... it was just an epiphany.
I'm not one to make big changes. At all.
Unless I discuss everything: pros, cons, minor details,
and over analyze everything with my dad.
I don't do anything big (or sometimes the small things too!)
without talking to, or asking advice from my dad.
No, I probably won't move out, or something like unto it
anytime soon. But, I kinda feel like... I ought to.
I dunno.
I love my family to bits and pieces!
Seriously.
There my best friends. My favorite people in the world.
But, they're also my comfort zone.
And, I'm in my comfort zone way too much.
I need to get out, and live a little bit.
I think so, anyway.
I live life very cautiously.
Which isn't a bad thing, but I want a little
spontaneity thrown in! A random road trip with friend,
or... okay, that's the only thing I can think of, but things like that!
I dunno. I guess I just want to have more fun, and get
to know some new people.
Don't get me wrong, the people I know now are
tremendous! I love you people:)
But, getting to know new people, and going new places are just fun!
That's one reason I wanted to be an EFY Counselor,
to meet all the other counselors!
Of course, I want to be one for other reasons
(i.e. helping the youth, traveling around, meeting new people, etc.)

Anyway, that's what I meant to put in the previous post,
but I got a little carried away with what I was typing, and
completely forgot.
Ha, that's all.
Ciao!

- Sara

Quote: "Any useful work is more honorable than idleness."
- Chung Sun

(He was a Chinese immigrant to the USA,
who was very smart, well educated, etc. Then one day he was
caught up in a riot, and was robbed of all his money. He eventually
went to work digging ditches, and getting paid hardly anything.
He went on to say what I have quoted, saying that even
though he was a well educated man, it is better for him to be
working (even if it's something small, but still useful) than to be idle.
I heard about him in my History class. He also described American's
to be well dressed barbarians [or something along those lines].
I thoroughly enjoy this man's thoughts. Haha.)

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Orlando!

So, on Friday (January 28, 2011) I went to Orlando,
with three other kids, to go to our EFY Counselor interviews.
In the vehicle was myself, Courtney, John Frey, and Korey Fras.
It was kinda sorta fun.
Yes, definitely.
The drive down was kinda quiet, and slow.
We just sat, and listened to music. But, then we made it to Orlando:)
They all went into the Temple to do a session,
while I waited around for them all to come out.
Blast it all, I can't wait to be endowed!
(not so I won't be "left out", but because I just want to be!)
While I waited, I filled up my car with gas,
returned my brothers scripture case for a smaller one,
read my scriptures (trying to tune into the Spirit for the upcoming interview!),
and took some pictures:)
Not many, just a couple before we headed out.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After walking around the Temple, and coming out to the front
I saw John and Fras! So, we chilled, and took some pictures
while waiting for Courtney to come out.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Good times. We then proceeded to Chick-Fil-A
for some much needed lunch/dinner.
We got there, I put on my interview clothes,
then ordered my food after everyone has already gotten theirs.
Smart move, Sara. (when the Interview is mere minutes away)
I got my food, then we split!
Courtney drove while I ate, and we ended up being...
15 minutes late!
Ha, blasted traffic.
It was fine, though.
They waited for us, and we were all able to go into
the interview together.
We went in, then after talking for a bit, they split us up.
Count off, "1, 2, 1, 2..."
It ended up being Courtney and John in a group,
and Fras and I in a group.
One group went into another group with a CES guy,
and another group stayed in the room we were currently in with a CES guy.
We stayed.
We just talked about the Youth,
and the responsibilities of EFY counselors, etc.
That part I thought went really well,
I answered questions (which is a rare thing!), and
I think I answered them with the right answers,
or at least what they were looking for.
Then came time to switch rooms.
Oh golly, I knew this part was coming,
but... oh man.
We switched rooms, and then we had to give a short devotional.
How did we do this?
We each chose an item out of a bag,
and were to draw a parallel between the item and the Gospel.
Everyone in my group did wonderfully!
Quick thinkers, good stuff.
Then, it was my turn.
What did I pick?
A USB thumb drive.
...how am I to turn that into something Gospel related?
After crashing and burning (really, it was that bad),
and coming home, my sister Elisabeth thought up a parallel.
"Your mind is the USB drive. And, in Heaven God's going to
put the USB drive into a giant computer for all to see.
So, we need to watch not only our words, and our actions, but our thoughts as well."
Idiot.
Why couldn't I think of that off the top of my head?!
Needless to say, I was perturbed with myself.
So, I think I have a 50/50 chance of getting the position.
If that.
BUT, quick rewind!
After the interview, we were headed home,
talking about each of our interviews,
and how we did, etc. Then something happens,
John and Fras mention Cold Stone (ice cream),
and lo and behold, there was one on the way home!
Ha. I hadn't had Cold Stone in quite a while.
It was goooood:)
I got something deliciously minty.
John had a bite.
Described it as "frozen mint toothpaste",
or something along those lines.
I love everything minty.
I guess some people don't.
Weirdies.
Oh! While at Cold Stone, who did we see other than
the wonderful, adorable Vanessa Gold!
Who knew she worked there?
Not me!
It was fun.
We conversed for a moment,
finished our ice cream,
the proceeded home.
And, our day came to an end there.
It was fun. I had lots of fun:)
Now, 4-6 weeks can't come soon enough!
(aka the amount of time it will take for them to email
us, letting us know if we got the position or not!)
kfds;lajfdlsa;gjkajkfda
Then on top of that there's all the stress about work!
Agh. I won't even go there.
Okay.
I'll just finish up here then.
Goodnight!

- Sara

Lyric: "As thy days may demand, so thy succor shall be."
- Hymn: How Firm A Foundation.

(just something that stuck out to me the other day.
I liked it. Made me think.)

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Winds-day

Happy Windsday!
No worries, it's really no day important.
You didn't forget any birthdays/holidays.
But, it's Wednesday. And it's super blustery!
How ironic:)
This wind has seriously made me want to go to the beach.
I kinda can't wait for summertime!
I love winter more than summer,
(I hate sweating 24/7 - and I'm a sweater!)
but I just really really want to go to the beach.
Good thing I live in Florida, and can probably go within
the next month or two! Ha:)

Also, something that has been on my mind....
the EFY Counselor interview!
I'm so excited!
I was so nervous for a little while,
but now I'm just excited, and can't wait!
All I've heard is that EFY Counselor interviews are
the single funnest interviews in ever.
So, needless to say, I'm excited:)
My one concern/worry:
the short lesson/devotional/talk we have to give.
I hate giving talks/speeches!
H.A.T.E.
Okay, that's an exaggeration.
I enjoy it when I've been up there for a little while,
and feel comfortable. But, we are supposed to make a short,
3-5 minute (I think) lesson/devotional.
No time to get comfortable.
And we have, like, 7 minutes to prepare it?
I dunno, that's just the one thing I'm kinda nervous about.
But, I think/hope it will go fine, so I'm not worrying about it:)

On a different note,
Fever Pitch is an adorable movie,
and I would probably marry Jimmy Fallon
if he were like his character in the movie.
And 10 years younger.

Also, another adorable movie?
The Killers!
Ashton Kutcher and Katherine Heigl!
Katherine Heigl is one of my favorite actresses:)
And, I've never been much of an Ashton Kutcher fan,
(although, I do love the name Ashton)
but in this movie I was somewhat smitten.
I absolutely adored him in this movie!
If I could marry his character in The Killers,
I would.

Another semi-cute movie?
Letters to Juliet.
The movie was alright,
I just love that it was based in Italy.
I love Italy! It made me want to go SO bad!
I will, one day, go to Italy.
If/when I make a bucket list,
going to Italy will be number one!

Also, I've been wanting to go to Disney lately.
I dunno, I just have.

Also, I've realized something(s).
Two strange smells that I enjoy:
- Coffee
- Gasoline
Why do I enjoy these smells?
They remind me of road trips!
Coffee - because of hotels.
They always smell like coffee!
And for someone who's never, ever
tasted coffee, and has 0% desire to taste it,
I sure do enjoy the smell.
(only because it brings back memories of
old road trips, hotels, etc.)
Gasoline - I think it's relatively obvious.
When we go on road trips, one needs to fill up
every so often, so gas stations (that I don't usually stop at)
remind me of road trips.
:) Haha.

Hm, I think that is all for now.
Ciao!

- Sara

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Has it really been over a month?

I haven't blogged since... December first?
Wow.
Haha, I guess I'm a little behind!
I've been tremendously busy with the end of the Fall semester,
and getting ready for the Spring semester,
with Christmas, New Years, church, Winn Dixie, McKay,
and everything else in between!

A couple of things that I'm doing right now,
that I'm terribly stoked for, and want to begin and complete,
and know the outcome of right now!

1: I took the pre-test for getting my GED today!
Now I just have to take so many hours of class at the
high school in order to take the GED test?
So, I'm gonna be working on that whenever I have a second!

2: I applied to be an EFY counselor!
And, I got an email saying,
"Hey, we think you might do well! Let's interview you!"
SO, I'm going to my interview,
(along with Courtney, John Frey, Heather Moss,
and maybe, hopefully, Katharine Daniels!)
on January 28th.
I'm so nervous.
And so stoked.
It's complete mixed emotions,
I'm going crazy waiting for it!
I want to be an EFY counselor SO bad.
But, I feel like I'll not do too well sometimes.
Maybe the kids won't like me. And I won't be a fun counselor
(which is part of the reason for a counselor! To get the kids
hyped up, and enjoy themselves! I realize, we're supposed to teach
and try to bring the spirit, but we are also to try to get them to have fun!)
I can be really fun sometimes.
But only sometimes.
I'm usually too level-headed, and my head's on too tight
for me to let loose, and have fun.
I can let loose and have fun,
but I just have to get in the mood for it.
And, once I'm in the mood, I'm solid!
So, I don't want to let the kids down if I do get picked to be a counselor.
And, if I don't get picked, I'll probably be semi-discouraged.
But, only semi. I'll be okay with it, though.
I'm still a kid, myself.
But, maybe that's why I need to be a counselor.
To act goofy, and be silly with other counselors.
I dunno, my mind is going 1000x miles an hour lately.
Just thinking.
I've been freaking out about the interview part.
It's a group interview, and somewhere in that interview,
I have to give a 3-5 minutes lesson/devotional/thing.
I severely dislike public speaking!
Much less public teaching, where I have to try to
teach people who have most likely been counselors before/gone
on missions, and are quite a bit smarter than me.
But, I guess I shouldn't be worried about that.
I just need to have the Spirit with me, and I should do fine.
I've been trying to prepare myself spiritually for it by
having some gospel/scripture study daily, and praying daily
(more sincerely), and then pondering afterward.
But, I'm still super nervous when I think about it.
Oh well.
I'll calm down.
I'll just keep doing what I'm doing, and I'm sure I'll do fine! :)
If I do get picked to be an EFY counselor, then
GREAT! I'll be able to have a blast throughout my summer,
and get paid to do it! And I'll be able to travel around a couple of states
(hopefully GA, VA, and TX!), while being spiritually uplifted,
and in the process uplifting some youth/other people as well! :)
So, keep me in your prayers y'all!
So I won't be so stressed, and so I'll have the Spirit to be with me
when I have my interview, so I'll know what to do/say!
That's what I'm praying for at least! :) Haha.

That's what's mainly been on my mind lately
(if you couldn't tell).
EFY, EFY, EFY, EFY, EFY, EFY, EFY.
It seems like the greatest opportunity in the world,
but sometimes I don't know how to have fun,
and I'm scared all ruin the whole thing by not letting loose!

jvajfslaniwhruwlffdsJFD/vhi;uewidcs!

Random side note: I just wrote all that mumble jumble
of letters, and in the process erased all that I had written.
This whole blog post.
Luckily, there is the "undo" option.
Greatest. Option. Ever.
Just thought I'd throw that out there.

Next subject!
What am I taking this coming semester?
- History, 1865-present (I think)
- Spanish I
- Biology
I think it'll make for a nice semester.
Then, after this semester it will be summertime.
Aka, hopefully EFY time!
Then, Fall semester.
What will I be taking then?
Probably the same thing, roughly.
- History (of something/somewhere else)
- Science (of some sort) with a lab - help me pick which one!
- Spanish II (probably)
...and then, after that semester ALL I'LL HAVE LEFT
ARE ELECTIVES! I think 4 classes of electives that I have to take,
then I'll have my AA! (Associates in Arts Degree)
Wow, it seems like it's flown by so fast.
Me being in college, and getting a degree and all.
Granted, I don't have my degree just yet, and I still have
a few more semesters to go, but I feel like I'm SO close!
It's crazy.

Where do I want to transfer to once I get my AA?
BYU.
BYU-Provo, BYU-Idaho, or BYU-Hawaii.
However, the out of state tuition will be killer.
That's something that just kills me.
But, I want to be somewhere where I can feel the Spirit,
you know? I don't want to go to a college where everyone
goes out and gets drunk on the weekend.

Oh decisions, decisions, decisions.
Alright. I think I'm done ranting for the night.
I'm sure I could think of more, but my sisters are
trying to sleep, and I'm keep the lights on.
And I have to work in the morning, too.
So, goodnight!

- Sara

Quote: "Every day we gain experience in something. Some days it's a good experience and some days it's a bad experience. Either way, every day we are given the unique opportunity to learn something and grow. Through our collective experiences, we gain knowledge with which we can help other people. We know that no matter what kind of day you may have had, it was good for you to go through it. Learn from your days and be happy and better because of them."

- Willard Stawksi, That Ye May Prosper, pg. 65